Between the buzz over self-driving cars at CES 2016 and the Obama administration’s announcement to invest almost $4 billion in autonomous vehicle research over the next 10 years, the race to create the best self-driving car has never been hotter.

But what does “autonomous driving” really mean?

In 2013, the US Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) defined five different levels of autonomous driving. And on January 15, the NHTSA updated their policy to reflect that “the widespread deployment of fully-autonomous vehicles is now feasible.”

According to the document, the NHTSA will provide “best-practice guidance to industry on establishing principles of safe operation for fully-autonomous vehicles”—in other words, vehicles at level 4—in the next six months.

Read more: Autonomous driving levels 0 to 5: Understanding the differences – TechRepublic

Don’t forget to share this via , Google+, Pinterest, LinkedIn, Buffer, , Tumblr, Reddit, StumbleUpon and Delicious.

Published by Mike Rawson

Mike Rawson has recently re-awoken a long-standing interest in robots and our automated future. He lives in London with a single android - a temperamental vacuum cleaner - but is looking forward to getting more cyborgs soon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Autonomous driving levels 0 to 5 – TechRepublic

by Mike Rawson time to read: 1 min
Hi there - can I help you with anything?
[Subscribe here]
More in News, Travel
Dating bot
This guy has swiped right on 200,000 women, without much success — The Washington Post

There are roughly 3.4 million women in the San Francisco Bay area, and Sebastian Stadil has swiped right on 203,000...